Shaken, Not Stirred: Cocktails in a box…

So I finally did it. I’ve subscribed to Shaken Cocktails.

I’ve been meaning to take a proper look for a month or two now, mainly to see if the price was reasonable. All too often you come across these ‘Product-X to your door’ services and they’re either outrageously over-priced or so pants you might as well be ordering manure in a box. Yes things can be that bad. I recently had a seriously disappointing experience with MyGeekBox and whilst my issue was dealt with well (I got a full-refund and return-postage refund) it has left me a little suspect of these box-to-your-door style services. Although I still have my Lootcrate to turn up – that might restore some faith.

Coming in cute little bottles this venture might just be a winner...
Coming in cute little bottles this venture might just be a winner…

Anyway the point is I finally went and researched Shaken Cocktails and their box of cocktails to your door service… I was so happy with what I read that I instantly signed up and am now eagerly awaiting my Negroni/Elderflower Collins Cocktail box (that’s the March 2015 box). At only £24 per box it’s surprisingly cheap compared to how much the same drinks would cost you out and about.

So for those of you who don’t know what Shaken Cocktails do here’s a little bit of information straight from their website:

“Shaken is a small company; just Alex, David, Mark (see our team page). We create cocktail kits for our members, featuring a different drink each month. The kits are designed to showcase a classic cocktail and its variations. We include premium ingredients (as recommended by that month’s drink designer) for the classic and a single variant. Each kit makes 4 servings (2 of each drink) and includes a bit extra.”

Taken from the Shakencocktails.com website.

Now what exited me, as an amateur (albeit kind of semi-professional) cocktail maker, is that whilst catering for the beginner there is also enough information to allow more experienced cocktail makers the opportunity to learn about the ingredients they’re using as well as the drinks themselves. Perfect for this blog don’t you think?

So here’s my monthly plan: Every Sunday after I get the latest box from Shaken, I’ll take some pictures of the ingredients, mix some cocktails up and test them out. But I’ll also try the spirits/liqueurs they send (along with the other ingredients they supply) neat. This way you’ll get a view at what the boxes are like both information wise as well as the quality of the ingredients they supply.

Last months box: the Manhattan...
Last months box: the Manhattan…

Now aside from the initial box they send I’ve read that they also offer the chance to attend exclusive events (whether this is held by them or partners/suppliers is unknown to me, as are the general prices of said events) and also offer discounts with certain suppliers. Now this is the intriguing part because I have yet to see or hear about any upcoming cocktail related events in the UK (or at least local to me here in Kent). So whilst I’ll be looking initially at the cocktails supplied, I’ll also be looking at the ingredients as well as attending some events.

Now if Shaken Cocktails box-to-your-door service is something you’re interested for you or a friend, why not sign up? It’s a monthly payment so you can cancel anytime you want (this sold it to me if I’m honest). What’s more if you use the link at the bottom of this post you’ll receive £5 off your first box. How about that for a sign up bonus?

Also you can look forward to this blog having a few more ingredient focused posts than usual thanks to this adventure…

Link for £5 off your first box: ShakenCocktails.com/fkue

What do you think?

